FaBeR > English > Education


The Ministry of Education’s regulations ensure a uniform structure for higher education throughout Flanders. At KU Leuven there is a variety of study programmes available:

Bachelor degree

Bachelor's programmes are the first stage of university education after secondary school. These programmes comprise 180 ECTS credit points. With two exceptions (philosophy and theology) bachelor's programs at KU Leuven are taught in Dutch. International students who wish to register for a Dutch-language programme will have to meet the language requirements.

Our Faculty offers the following bachelor programmes:

Master degree

Initial master programmes consist of 60 or 120 ECTS credit points.

Doctoral degree

Interested in a doctoral degree?
Check the website of the Leuven International Doctoral School Biomedical Sciences.


Practical information for Erasmus students coming to Leuven.

Recognition of diplomas